Leaders Circle

The Leaders Circle is made of prominent community leaders across Doña Ana County who are committed to education. Their role is to “open doors and break down barriers and promote the work of the SUCCESS Partnership. They use their influence to open the doors of opportunity and work innovatively in joint education efforts. Their collaboration has resulted in grant partnerships, providing enriching parent education, sharing resources, and creating professional development opportunities.

Our Leaders Circle Steering Team is composed of elected representatives from our cross-sector community partners who are responsible for guiding and structuring Leaders Circle membership, meetings, and activities.

Members with the * symbol represent our Leaders Circle Steering Team.


*Maria Artiaga, Ph.D.
Las Cruces Public Schools Federal Programs

Travis Dempsey
Gadsden Independent School District

Gregory Ewing, Ph.D.
Las Cruces Public Schools

*Maria Flores
Las Cruces Public Schools

Amanda Gibson-Smith
New Mexico State University Head Start

Laura Gutierrez-Spencer, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University

Mary Parr-Sanchez
National Education Association of New Mexico

Shelly Stovall, Ph.D.
New Mexico State University

Monica Torres, Ph.D.
Dona Ana Community College


*Judge Marci Beyer
State of New Mexico, 3rd Judicial District Court

Amanda Lopez Askin, Ph.D.
Doña Ana County

Bill Soules
New Mexico Legislature

Social & Community Services

*Tracey Bryan
The Bridge of Southern New Mexico

Erika Graf-Webster
League of Women Voters of Greater Las Cruces

Abel Covarrubias
Aprendamos Intervention Team

Patricia Heffelfinger
La Clinica de Familia

*Dawn Hommer
Community Action Agency

Daisy Maldonado
Empowerment Congress

Amanda Morales
United Way of Southern New Mexico

Terra Winter, Ph.D.
Community Foundation of Southern New Mexico

Community Members

Judith Bosland
Ngage New Mexico

Glen Cerny

*Michael Morehead, Ph.D.
Retired Burrell College of Osteopathic Medicine

Mike Milam
Ngage New Mexico

Earl Nissen
Teen Pregnancy Prevention


Pastor Jared Carson
Peace Lutheran Church


*Carrie Hamblen
Las Cruces Green Chamber of Commerce

Debbi Moore
Greater Las Cruces Chamber of Commerce

Guillermo Silva
El Paso Electric Company


Deryl Palmer
Amistad Family Services

Dawn Sanchez
New Mexico Department of Health